Queen Mary Crescent, Kirk Sandall, Doncaster, South Yorkshire, DN3 1JT

01302 882221



Kirk Sandall Infant School

Safeguarding - Roles and Responsibilities


The Designated Senior Member of staff for Safeguarding (Child Protection) /Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) are: Janet Foster (Executive Head teacher) Nina Brannon (Head of School) Claire Blagden (Deputy Head)

The Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead is: Nicola Moran (Inclusion Manager) Lucy Stewart (Parent Engagement Officer)

The designated teacher for looked after children is: Nina Brannon

The Nominated Child Protection/ Safeguarding Governor is Diane Dunn

The Nominated Governor for looked after children is: Diane Dunn 

The named CSE lead is: Nina Brannon

The named FGM lead is: Nina Brannon

The named on-line protection officer is: Nina Brannon

The named complaints handler is: Nina Brannon Diane Dunn 

The Local Authority Designated Officer (LADO) is: Jim Foy Contact Details:01302 737748

More Information

Headteacher/Senior Manager: responsible for implementing policies and procedures, allocating resources to the
safeguarding team and addressing staff safeguarding concerns.
Name: Janet Foster Tel no: 01302 882221/01302 888550

Designated Safeguarding Lead / Child Protection Liaison Teacher or Officer (DSL/CPO):  senior member of
the leadership team, responsible for dealing with safeguarding issues, providing advice and support to other staff,
liaising with the local authority, and working with other agencies.
Name: Nina Brannon/Claire Blagden Tel no: 01302 882221

Deputy Child Protection Lead / Teacher or Officer(s): a member of the teaching, support or pastoral staff, in a
post which requires assessment of children, with sufficient status and authority to effectively deputise for the CPLT/O
role above. Cannot be an administrative or finance worker.
Name: Nicola Moran/Lucy Stewart Tel no: 01302 882221

Special Educational Needs Coordinator (SENCo): staff member who provides advice, liaison and support for
school staff and other agencies working with pupils with special educational needs and their parents or carers.
Name: Nicola Moran Tel no: 01302 882221

Looked After Children (LAC) Designated Teacher: promotes the educational achievement of ‘looked after’ children
who are on the school roll, and helps staff understand issues that affect how they learn and achieve.
Name: Nina Brannon Tel no: 01302 882221

Your Safeguarding Children Team also links in with the:
Safeguarding/Child Protection Governor: ensures there are appropriate safeguarding children policies and
procedures in place, monitors whether they are followed and, together with the rest of the governing body, remedies
deficiencies and weaknesses that are identified.

Name: Diane Dunn Tel no: 07798636732

Chair of Governors: takes the lead in dealing with allegations of abuse made against the Headteacher (and other
members of staff when the Headteacher is not available), in liaison with the Local Authority; and on safe recruitment
practices with the Headteacher.
Name: Diane Dunn Tel no: 07798636732

E-safety Coordinator: to develop and maintain an e-safety culture within a school.
Name: Emma Harrison Tel no: 01302 882221

Learning Mentor (or equivalent): addresses difficulties preventing a child from reaching their full potential e.g.
behaviour, attendance, achievement, timekeeping, homework, safeguarding issues, and develops strategies to
overcome these barriers.
Name: Julie Hotchkiss/Lucy Stewart Tel no: 01302 882221